pizap.com13881959009381The height of deterioration best describes the yearly MetroManila Film Festival.  This year’s crop is the pits. Well, it isn’t really a wonder since this country thrives on the concept of ‘pera sa basura’.   It is a blazing reality that producers churn more and more stewy smelly photoplays.  Anti-cerebral stories that basically strike the moronic strings of the masses.  Politics may be the main culprit of this malady. Working in the shadows, money-ed, evil-eyed politicians seek producers to come up with movies that numb a huge mass block and become zombies of their own corruption.  This is very evident in most of the entries this year : Exploitation of the child ; Exploitation of perverts ; Exploitation of the unknown ; and worst making a story out of a politician’s indiscretion without really having to trace where he got his wealth.  We should all be wary about this matter especially now that we seem to be swayed by media to believe in things that are animated from the dark side.  We not saying that we thrash the MMFF altogether but rather we should be vigilant to only accept what is morally healthful to a nation in a greater milieu, in a farther future.  Now, the question how GAY is MMDA Chair Francis Tolentino to be swayed by this forces? Just asking. WTF.


Best Picture: 10,000 Hours
2nd Best Picture: Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
3rd Best Picture: My Little Bossings
Best Director: Joyce Bernal, 10,000 Hours
Best Original Story: 10,000 Hours
Best Screenplay: 10,000 Hours
Best Actor: Robin Padilla, 10,000 Hours
Best Actress: Maricel Soriano, Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
Best Supporting Actor: Pen Medina, 10,000 Hours
Best Supporting Actress, Aiza Seguerra, My Little Bossings
Best Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon, My Little Bossings

Best Festival Sound Recording: 10,000 Hours
Best Musical Score: 10,000 Hours
Best Original Theme Song: My Little Bossings
Best Makeup: Pagpag
Best Visual Effects: 10,000 Hours
Best Editing: 10,000 Hours
Best Cinematography: 10,000 Hours
Best New Wave Film: Dukit by Armando Lao
New Wave Best Picture: Dukit
New Wave Special Jury Prize: Mga Anino ng Kahapon

Best New Wave Film Director: Armando Lao for Dukit
New Wave Best Actress: Agot Isidro
New Wave Best Actor: Bor Ocampo, Willy Layug, Bambalito Lacap for Dukit

New Wave Short Film Best Picture: Ang Paglisan
New Wave Student Short Film Special Jury Prize: ‪#‎NoFilter‬, Mapua Institute of Technology
Animation Best Picture: Kaleh and Mbaki
Animation Jury Prize: Ang Lalong ni Kulakog

Gender Sensitive Award – New Wave Student Category: Hintayin mo sa Seq. 24
Gender Sensitive Award Main Category: Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy
Gender Sensitive Award – New Wave: Island Dreams

FPJ Memorial Award for Film Excellence: 10,000 Hours
Gat Puno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: 10,000 Hours

Youth Choice Award: Pagpag
Special Recognition Award: Ronnie Ricketts
Male Star of the Night: Daniel Padilla
Female Star of the Night: Eugene Domingo
Best Float Award: Boy Golden

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Baguhin )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Baguhin )

Connecting to %s