The Film Academy of the Philippines special committee has decided on Thursday, September 15, to nominate Ang Babae sa Septic Tank as the country’s entry to the best foreign language film category of the 2012 Oscar Awards. The film which starred Eugene Domingo was directed by Marlon Rivera and scripted by Chris Martinez and was the best film in the New Breed category of the last Cinemalaya Film Festival. It actually bested seven other films which were also considered for possible nomination by the special committee. Ang Babae…had its commercial run starting August 3, 2011.

The committee also previewed Marilou Diaz-Abaya’s Ikaw ang Pagibig which is still being shown in theaters; Paul Soriano’s Thelma; Jade Castro’s Zombading: Patayin sa Shokot si Remington; Albert Martinez’s Rosario; Jerrold Tarog’s Senior Year; Adolf Alix Jr’s Presa; and Dondon Santos’ Dalaw.

The committee, which is chaired by National Artist for Film Director Eddie Romero , has the following members: new member Director/Actress Gina Alajar; Actor/Director Robert Arevalo, the new FAP deputy director-general; Director Jose N. Carreon of DGPI; Director William Mayo, president of the Philippine Motion Picture Directors’ Association;

Manny Morfe, president of the Production Designers Guild of the Philippines; Jess Navarro, president of the United Film Editors Guild of the Philippines and Director Elwood Perez.

The filmography of Ang babae sa Septic Tank is as follows:

Producers—Chris Martinez, Marlon N. Rivera, Atty. Josebeth Alonso and John Victor Tence

Cast—Eugene Domingo, JM de Guzman, Kean Cipriano, Cai Cortez, Cherry Pie Picache, Mercedes Cabral, Jonathan Tadioan, Carlos Dala, KC Marcelo, Lani Tapia and Sonny Bautista

Production Staff—Larry Manda (cinematography), Norman Regalado (production design), Albert Michael Idioma & Addiss Tabong (sound), Vincent de Jesus (musical score) and Ike Veneracion (editing).

Since 1996, a FAP committee had been selecting the country’s annual entry to the foreign language film category. These films were as follows: Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin (Reyna Films) directed by Carlitos Siguion-Reyna (1996); Milagros (Merdeka Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1997); Sa Pusod ng Dagat (GMA Films) directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya (1998); Saranggola (GMA Films/Teamwork Productions) directed by Gil Portes (1999);

Anak (Star Cinema) directed by Rory B. Quintos (2000); Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway (Crown Seven Ventures) directed by Gil Portes (2001); Mga Munting Tinig (Teamwork Films) directed by Gil Portes (2002); Dekada ’70 (Star Cinema) directed by Chito Rono (2003); Crying Ladies (Unitel Productions) directed by Mark Meily (2004);

Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (U.F.O. Films) directed by Aureus Solito (2006); Donsol (Bicycle Productions) directed by Adolf Alix (2007); Ploning (Panoramanila) directed by Dante Nico Garcia (2008); Ded na si Lolo (APT Entertainment) directed by Soxie Topacio (2009); and Noy (Cinemedia Film Productions) directed by Dondon Santos (2010).

By eklavumer Posted in balita